Stations of the Cross

Original paintings and artworks are evident throughout the Cathedral. The Stations of the Cross, the monumental work of renowned artist Albin Polasek, are the circular medallions on the pillars of the nave. The fourteen stations, sculptured and then cast in bronze relief, consumed three years of the artist's time and talents. Polasek considered these his crowning work of sculpture. And, as is the habit of old world artists, modeled his self portrait as one of the figures in the twelfth station.

~The Beauty of Thy House, 2005


 1. Jesus is Condemned to Death


2. Jesus is Made to Carry the Cross


 3. Jesus Falls the First Time


4. Jesus Meets His Afflicted Mother


 5. The Cyrenean Helps Jesus Carry His Cross


6. Veronica Wipes the Face of Jesus


7. Jesus Falls the Second Time


8. Jesus Speaks to the Women of Jerusalem


9. Jesus Falls the Third Time



10. Jesus is Stripped of His Garments 


11. Jesus is Nailed to the Cross



12. Jesus Dies on the Cross


13. Jesus is Taken Down from the Cross


14. Jesus is Laid on the Sepulcher




     Sculptor Albin Polasek  

    Cathedral Interior